News Release

Barley Coverage Expands in Ohio

SPRINGFIELD, Aug. 18, 2019 — The U.S. Department of Agriculture’s (USDA) Risk Management Agency (RMA) announces Barley coverage is now available in Allen, Butler, Champaign, Columbiana, Crawford, Darke, Defiance, Delaware, Erie, Fairfield, Fayette, Fulton, Hancock, Hardin, Henry, Knox, Licking, Lorain, Lucas, Madison, Mahoning, Marion, Miami, Pickaway, Preble, Putnam, Ross, Sandusky, Shelby Trumbull, Union, Wayne Wood, and Wyandot counties for the 2020 crop year.


“We recognized a growing industry in Ohio Agriculture and wanted to provide producers with the tools they need to effectively manage their risks.” explains Brian Frieden, Director of USDA Risk Management Agency’s Springfield Regional Office. “We also realize that there may be barley producers in counties that still don’t have a program. I encourage them to talk with their crop insurance agent to consider their options.” 


Producers in counties without the barley program may request coverage through their crop insurance agent. The deadline to submit new written agreement request to insure barley is  September 30, 2019. 


More information about deadlines are available in the RMA Actuarial Browser. To discuss dates and options, producers should contact their local agent. Learn more at




USDA is an equal opportunity provider and employer.